Treadmill Rage

Oh the joy of crowded apartment gyms post New Years. It has always been my opinion that people who have been working out prior to New Years should have first priority on machines after New Years. I’m thrilled for people embarking on new exercise programs. I love to see folks taking charge of their health and making good changes. But, dammit, don’t throw me off my training/work out schedule!

I had my first case of Treadmill Rage for 2010 earlier this week. I gave myself two days off after the 5k with Blair. So, Wednesday rolled around and I was gunning for a run. (Wait, whoa, who is this Anna? Excited to run??) Tom and I get down to the gym; it boasts four treadmills. One treadmill was broken and the other three were taken. I hoped on an elliptical to “warm up” and hoped someone would finish on the treadmill to at least give me enough time to properly calibrate my nike+.

About four minutes into my work out, I realize that two of the three treadmill folks are more than 30 minutes into their work out. Every gym I’ve ever been to has “gym rules” which involve limiting your workout to 30 minutes when others are waiting. So, I start to get a little frustrated. 15 minutes into my work out, the first person gets off. Another girl (who was waiting before me) got on. Still frustrated Anna on the elliptical. Finally, twenty minutes into my work out, a second person gets off (he had logged 50 minutes so I didn’t feel bad at all). Thankfully I was able to swoop in and grab that treadmill. Otherwise, I felt like we were quickly approaching the point where I would stand, fists clenched and red faced in front of the line of treadmills demanding that someone get off and allow me to run a stinking 3/4 mile to calibrate my nike+.

I ran my 3/4 and got off the treadmill efficiently so that no one else had to suffer treadmill rage. Y’all seriously, come to the gym, work out, sweat, do what you need to do. But if the gym is packed, finish within 30-40 minutes. Otherwise, you’ll have someone huffing and puffing (not from exertion) on an elliptical behind you…

Treadmill rage aside, I’ve had a decent set of runs this week. I haven’t logged a lot of distance and haven’t run as many times as I would have liked. But, I’m still going (even though I’m not signed up for another race) and that’s a huge step for me. Three “runs” (including the 3/4mi calibration run) yielded about 5.35mi this week. Friday I ran a 5k around 33:30. I feel vindicated after my brutal, windy 5k last weekend.

The Nike+ challenges I set for myself are currently taunting me. While I’m doing leaps and bounds better than I ever have, the output reads are telling me: more, more, more! I don’t think I’ll meet my calorie burn goal, but I should exceed my mileage goal and either meet (or come soooo close to meeting) my number of runs goal! Hopefully I can get a few runs in over the next couple days and make these things happen.

For now, I suppose I should pick another run to sign up for. I’m working on corraling Tom into running the 2/13 5k but he’s sick right now, so my persuasion isn’t going so well. If nothing else, there’s the GW Parkway 5k which I intended to run last year and definitely want to run this year. Any suggestions?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Treadmill Rage

  1. Pingback: Making good habits « Doing Good & Living Well

Leave a Reply

