Re-evaluating what I’m doing…

This weekend was a run-fail. I had a great time doing wedding assorted things but there was absolutely no running. :o( My biggest stumbling block was the weather. It was rainy and nasty the morning I really wanted to run. However my carry on bag didn’t hold the proper gear for a run in the rain and I was not up to facing the treadmill of death in my parent’s basement.

I came back to my Nike+ goals taunting me with my failure. So, I did something I don’t normally do. I threw in the towel, reset the goals, took out a calendar and got realistic. I realize that I was just running when I felt like it and hoping things would get better. I love schedules though and even though I’m not training for a long race, I thought it might be a good idea to put together a rough goal (realistic too) for the number of times I’ll run and how far I’ll go. So, I scribbled all that on a sticky note and slapped that bright yellow reminder into my planner.

This evening, in the spirit of honoring my shiny new goals, I went for a quick two mile run and even threw in some weight lifting. (My arms, back and chest will look amazing for the wedding – dammit!) I’m working on increasing my speed currently. I also want to run 3.5-4 miles 2-3 times before my next 5k in three and a half weeks. I want it to seem easier than the first time around!

Other things I’m doing? De-lurking from all the fitness blogs that have motivated me for the past year or so! Just reading has been great motivation so I can’t wait to see what inspiration actual interactions will bring about. :o) I’m also experimenting a little with my cooking. My MO in the kitchen is pretty simple and standard — however there are many, shiny, amazing wedding (kitchen) gifts coming soon. I’m already daydreaming about the things I’ll do. So — recipes are welcome!

Time for a shower. I can smell myself and that’s never a good thing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

