Cauliflower Creation

I wrote a few days ago about eating better. Tom and I just made a dinner that rocked my world!

Our friend Nick has been encouraging us to try pureed cauliflower as a substitute for mashed potatos. We decided to give it a shot along with some yummy marinated tilapia and roasted potato wedges. The cauliflower was really the star though. I packed the leftovers for lunch and Tom caught me using my finger to clean out the blender…

The World’s Best Fake Mashed Potatos
Ingredients:
Head of cauliflower
Head of garlic
Triangle of Laughing Cow Cheese
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper
Butter

1. Cut the top 1/4 of the head of garlic off, wrap in tinfoil and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes at 400 degrees.

2. Prep the cauliflower by cutting the head apart into small spears (think like brocolli). Then, boil water and steam your cauliflower until tender.

3. Remove roasted garlic cloves from head of garlic. Place in blender or food processor with your steamed cauliflower and cheese wedge. Pour in about 2 Tbs of olive oil (more or less depending on your preferences and amount of cauliflower), add about 1 Tbs of butter and then salt and pepper to your tastes.

4. Blend all your ingredients until completely combined. You shouldn’t be able to see anymore chunks! You can then finagle the ingredients until you get the taste and consistency you desire. (Add more cheese, olive oil, salt, pepper, etc.)

You will not regret this! I think I have a new food obsession. They’re not as thick as mashed potatos, but they are WORLDS better for you and taste delicious. I’m so excited about this new way to add servings of veggies to my life! (I think in my two ladels of cauliflower, I got 3-4 servings of veggies.) You can’t beat it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

