Good choices, bad choices

That pretty much sums up my weekend in Atlanta, thus far. I’ve made some really stellar food choices, I’ve made some marginally poor ones, and there was a cake decision at today’s recipe shower that should not be discussed ever again! I suppose I can use the: “But I’ll never have another wedding shower again” excuse?

I mentioned in my last post that I’ve been on a decent exercising kick. I worked out six days this week (including the run I have planned tomorrow morning). I haven’t worked out that much and consistently in a LONG time. Several workouts were also longer than normal. One was over an hour and a couple others were between 40 minutes and an hour. Needless to say, I’m pretty proud of myself.

I even gathered my cajones and ran in my parents’ neighborhood Friday morning. Doesn’t sound like much, but this place is literally one hill after another. There is NO WAY to run without hitting SUPER steep hills. There are also no sidewalks in this town, so unless I wanted to dodge rush hour traffic I was sticking to the neighborhood. I ran for half an hour and made it 2.66 miles. I was pretty proud considering that I ran more hills than I ever have before.

I did lose to the second to last hill. It is literally one of the steepest hills I’ve ever seen. One time in high school, the roads were icy and my school bus slid back down this hill. Walking up it gets you out of breath fast. I made it probably 2/3 of the way up and felt like I was either going to throw up or I was going to fall. My legs felt like lead weights. So, in the interest of safety I let my pride take the fall instead and hustled up the rest of the hill walking. I’ll get you next time hill!

Tomorrow morning my parents are planning to go walking at a local greenway and I’ll be joining them for a run. It will be nice to run in a scenic area and have fewer hills to take on. I’m also super pumped about running right now. I’ll “blame” one of the most motivating bloggers I read, Meghann, for this one. I just read over her first post after completing 1/2 of the Gasparilla Michelob Challenge (day one: 15k, 5k; day two: marathon). That girl is an animal and her posts always make me want to run!

Time to watch some more Olympics. Talk about inspiration…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

