Five Miles? I got that!

My sole run of the week was surrounded by the best intentions. A busy start of the week, many wedding crafts and then a 48 hour migraine from hell kept me from lacing up my tennis shoes until today. However, I made up for lost time! I ran five miles!! Oh yes indeed, a new PDR and I’m thrilled!

I didn’t think I was going to make it. My last run was last Friday and it was just over 2.5 miles. However, I had it stuck in my head that five miles was going to happen. It was slower than I would have liked (avg pace of 11:11 min/mi) but I made it happen. Right now, distance is the big thing to me. If I can finish it then I’ll eventually improve my time.

My legs felt like lead weights and I ran out of water .25 miles from the end so I was THIRSTY! I came upstairs, stretched out and then set out to properly recover. I mixed up a fast smoothie: a banana, 2 cups of strawberry and pineapple, a dannon natural vanilla yogurt, 4 oz of fruit juice and 2 small handfulls of spinach. My knees were achy and I wanted to try icing this time to see if that helped with the soreness I’ve had with previous runs. I settled down on the floor with two bags of frozen vegetables (hey, I’ve got student loans so I can’t afford fancy ice bags) and my smoothie.

Ten minutes later I felt like a new woman. My legs are definitely still tired (as is the rest of me) but I ran five miles! We’re off to Whole Foods to pick up a few more grocery items for the week. I saw the new Luna Protein Bar there last time and I’m curious to try it. I’ll be grabbing one if they’re around still.

FIVE MILES!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

