Protein in cookie dough form?

I should have known it was too good to be entirely true!

I mentioned in my last post that I was on the look out for the new Luna Protein Bars. My Whole Foods had a Cherry Chocolate flavor and Cookie Dough. I am naturally drawn to cookie related items so I grabbed a cookie dough bar and called it a night.

The Breakdown:
This protein bar was the same price as my normal Luna bar (99 cents at Whole Foods). The chocolate coating was delicious! However, the “cookie dough” filling was a little too dry and had more of a chalky taste than I like.

The Stats:
180 calories and 6g of fat (4g Saturated)
230mg of Sodium
110mg of Potassium
21g Carbs
3g Fiber
15g Sugar
12g Protein
This little bar also boasts vitamins and nutrients: 10% of A, B1, B2, and B3; 15% of Iron and D; 20% of C, B6, and B12; 25% of Calcium; and 30% of E and B9.

Would I eat it again? In a pinch, yes. However, if I can get my hands on my normal Luna Bar I would much rather have a Chocolate Raspberry, Chocolate Peppermint Stick or Cookies and Cream! I was fairly impressed with the nutrients crammed into the bar and love that Luna sources ingredients that are not genetically engineered. I’ll definitely stick with the brand, but I’ll let them work on the protein bar a little longer before I try again. Has anyone tried any of the other flavors of the Luna protein bars? Maybe there’s one out there better suited to my taste buds…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Protein in cookie dough form?

  1. I too found the cookie dough protein bar chalky. It had too much of that “proteiny” taste… My favorite is the smores lunas 🙂

Leave a Reply

