Pacer’s Quarter Marathon

So, after writing my post yesterday, inhaling as much vitamin c as I could, and resting up, I decided to go for it with the race today. I didn’t want to let myself or Kelly down.

4:30am found me wide awake about an hour before my alarm. I managed to rest for a little bit longer before hauling myself out of bed. I’d laid out my gear the night before so it was nice to not search for anything in the dark. I chowed down on a slice of peanut butter toast and grabbed a Naked Juice and Cool Mint Chocolate Clif Bar for the car. (I have to say, that is now one of my favorite bars!)

I was ridiculously early to meet Kelly, so I found a parking spot and tried to “harness my chi” and get my mind right. We met up and took a cab to the race start where Kelly picked up her packet and we dropped off our bags. After a quick port-a-potty break and a jog around the block to warm up our legs, we were ready to go.

The first two miles were great! Kelly is a joy to run with and talking with her really took my mind off of the fact that I was running a race I was ill-prepared for. (Yes, that’s right folks, I talked while I ran! That’s another first for me and I was surprised at how “easy” it was.) We crossed the mile three marker before we took our first walking break — I was pretty proud of that.

We ran through mile five and then walked for about half a mile. My left ankle was feeling rather tight so it was nice to walk a little and let it loosen up. The entire time, I was monitoring it for “bad pain” and thanks to Caitlin’s post about “normal pain” I felt like I was able to assess the situation and keep going.  Normally, I would have used that as an excuse to stop but I knew nothing was out of sorts so I kept pushing through.

Kelly and I set a goal during our first walking break of finishing in 90 minutes. Neither one of us was really prepared for this race so it was more about having fun and finishing. The race was also a half marathon — folks completing the half ran two loops of the course. It was really inspiring to see the lead runners for the half!

I struggled through the last mile and having Kelly there kept me moving. She told me that if we pushed, we could really kill our goal and complete the race in under 80 minutes. With that goal in mind, we stepped it up a notch. We crossed the finish line around 79:30, got our medals and celebrated!

Officially, this is the longest distance I’ve ever run. We averaged just over a 12 minute mile. For a race run sick, tired and un-prepared, I’m so so thrilled! (I think I would be thrilled even if I wasn’t sick!) Even though I walked and even though my times are nothing compared to some of the amazing women whose blogs I follow, I know that I personally have to start somewhere. I’m proud that I gave it a shot. I’m thrilled that I ran the first three miles straight. I’m elated that I finished under my goal!

Kelly and I also chatted about running the Disney Princess Half in about a year. I’ve never been to Disney and her husband-to-be hasn’t either. Stay tuned, I may be buying a tutu and training for a half!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pacer’s Quarter Marathon

  1. Congratulations – sounds like you had a great run! I haven’t broken a distance record in a long time. Sad! If I did a half it would have to be the disney one – it looks like so much fun!

    • Thanks! It was a nice feeling of accomplishment especially when I expected to fail spectacularly. 🙂 It has me motivated to sign up for a few 10ks and that Disney Princess Half — seriously, how fun to run in a tutu!

Leave a Reply

