Foiled!

I feel boring lately. I wake up, go to work, come home, clean my tupperware, pack up the next day’s food, have dinner, sit/watch tv/read a book, sleep, repeat. I’ve been in a serious work out funk and I need to break out. I want to go on a run, I really do. I even looked at races coming up and have my eye on two 10ks (one in November and one in December) but I suppose I should get a few runs in before I even think about registering.

Monday after work we took a new coworker out to Happy Hour where I had a delicious greek salad and a glass of white wine. New coworker has awesome friend potential written all over her AND she’s a marathoner. She invited me to join the running club she leads and she promises she is an epicly slow runner too.

Yesterday, I came home ready to go for a run. It turns out half the town was out of power. Our building only had one functioning elevator (for over 500 residents = bad news) and there was no power or a/c at all. That killed my run. Two main reasons: (1) running around here is great because there are sidewalks — but the drivers are aggressive. You were not about to find this girl dodging cars without the help of lights and crosswalks. (2) We live above the 9th floor and often times we do not have water pressure when the power is out. I’m way, way too much of a sweat-er when I work out to not have a guaranteed shower waiting for me at the end of the run. Instead, Hubs and I went out to eat and enjoyed each other’s company.

Today, it rained. I could have met up for a date with the dreadmill, but running inside really kills my enjoyment. That’s the fastest way, I’ve found, to not want to run again soon. My hopes are pinned on my day off tomorrow. Hubs is working from home and hopefully I can rouse myself early and hit the pavement. Tomorrow there WILL be a workout of some sort. No more lazy, lazy, slothful Anna!

Otherwise, I finished the first disc of Glee and am still in love! I cannot wait for Netflix to send me another disk! When not watching Glee, I’m reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma and enjoying it. It’s slow going but thought provoking. I’d definitely like to read more of Michael Pollen’s stuff. I need to finish Jane Eyre too. I left it behind during work travel and came back too engrossed in my current read to put it down. So, hopefully I’ll have a book review coming up soon. (Cause I’d really like to wrap these two books up!)

This weekend has some great things on tap: wine night/birthday celebrations, some serious football watching Saturday (hopefully cheering on my Dawgs to a win over Arkansas), and some cooking. Kelly had an amazing looking Mexican Casserole a few weeks ago that I wanna try and I have a huge can of Libby’s pumpkin in the cupboard that wants to be used. Anyone have a good recipe for soup that uses canned pumpkin?

Happy (early) Weekend folks! Tell me, what is the best thing that has happened to you lately?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Foiled!

  1. hehe your “funk” is my usual weeknight! I love that time to recharge before the weekends and come on, reading and watching TV is fun! I do know what you mean about mixing it up though – sounds like you have a fun weekend coming up! Glad you’re still loving Glee and I hope you make and love the casserole!! Best thing that’s happened to me lately?? Prob becoming an aunt! or buying a new car! Or celebrating 2 years of blogging! Lots of fun stuff lately!!

  2. oooo….wine night! if you discover any good ones, i’d love to know about them! if you ever have any questions about Australian vino, please let me know. let’s just say i’ve tried a few 🙂

    i’m curious to read The Omnivore’s Dilemma too. i’ve yet to read Michael Pollen, but i saw him on Oprah and his research/philosophies sounded really interesting.

    hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

  3. I love that you include “cleaning out tuberware” as part of your day… It definitely eats up some of my time, too! I haven’t read “The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” but I read “In Defense of Food,” and I heard they hit on a lot of the same points. I appreciate much of what Pollen says, but sometimes I’m unsure of his approach. Interested to hear what you think about the book!

Leave a Reply

