New Food Obsession?

One excellent Friday night went on the books last night. A few friends and I celebrated Kelly’s birthday (which is actually Monday) in high style. Well, perhaps not high style, but it was fun! Kelly promised tasty eats and the rest of us promised wine. Kelly put together a yummy spread: her famous meatballs, chips and salsa, cantaloupe wrapped in prosciutto, dates stuffed with goat cheese (yum!), and “white walls”. This may be one of my new favorite foods!

I love every ingredient associated with this tasty little creation: pickles, honey ham, cream cheese. I also love how easy it is: Spread out a piece of honey ham, schmear with cream cheese, roll up a pickle inside (like a pig in a blanket). Then you refrigerate for 20-30 minutes so the cream cheese “sticks” to the pickle. Slice these little bites of heaven up and then serve. Five of us devoured almost an entire jar of pickles like this. I think I could eat the same amount just by myself. Try it out — you will not be disappointed. Yum, yum, yum!

We also put the hurt on some wine. I think there were about five bottles consumed. I don’t remember refilling my glass that much, nor did I feel drunk when leaving — so I guess that’s good and bad? I was super tired though and almost took a little snooze on the train. Luckily I stayed awake and didn’t wake up at the end of the train line somewhere. Score one for me!

I started my football Saturday today in equally marvelous fashion. Maybe I didn’t have as much wine as five bottles among five women would lead one to believe — I was entirely headache and hangover free this am. I had eight and a half amazing hours of sleep. Game Day Breakfast today was: scrambled eggs (onion, spinach, mozzarella), a piece of Starbucks Pumpkin Bread, and a Pumpkin Spice Latte with skim. The guy who rang me up at Sbuxs joked that I must really like pumpkin. He’s very, very right.

(Speaking of pumpkin, I’ve been stalking grocery shelves for cans of Libby’s. I’ve been so afraid that there would be a shortage again this year. However, I found this article and my spirits have been lifted! Pumpkin, I can’t wait for you to get here! We’ll have a party with my immersion blender. Love, Anna)

I’m hoping my Dawgs can step it up for the second half. The first half has been kinda hard on my heart. After we win (fingers crossed), I’m heading down to hang out with some cardio equipment while I watch the Florida/Tennessee game. Not sure what’s on the docket for dinner, but I feel some cooking coming on tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

