My Omnivore’s Dilemma

Ah yes, weeks later I finally have finished another book! Last night I was feeling pretty awful (let’s be honest, I still don’t feel great) so I curled up in bed to finish off Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.

I definitely feel far more educated about food. Pollan takes a look at four different styles of eating: (a) traditional processed food, (b) “industrial” organic, (c) organic, and (d) hunting, gathering, and foraging. He spend some time educating you about each type (in an interesting, “holy crap I had no idea” sort of way) and then creates and eats a meal from that style. I found the book interesting, horrifying in some places (wait, I’ve been putting that into my body?!), and rather educational. (4.5/5)

It has left me thinking about what I eat and where I get it from as well. I’d like to do a little more research and perhaps read a few more books on the matter. (Perhaps: In Defense of Food and Eating Animals…) However, I could definitely see myself implementing some changes based on what I’ve learned. For instance, I want to make an effort to buy more local produce. Hubs and I strive to get organic produce – especially produce that is typically known to be highly contaminated. But now I’d really like to try and shop at Farmer’s Markets more and maybe even join a coop.

I also started thinking a lot about the meat I eat. I don’t think I’ll ever become vegetarian, I just don’t see that in the cards. I know and love many vegetarians and gave up meat twice for Lent. It’s just not in the cards for me. I don’t eat a lot of meat by any means, but I do enjoy it. Pollan presented some scary/interesting information about the meat we eat. After a little more research and some planning, I might stop eating meat unless I know how it was raised. There’s some scary information out there about non-grass fed animals (or, wild-caught in the case of seafood). Like I said, I need to do a little more research but I feel like some changes are coming down the line for me.

Has a book ever changed the way you look at food? Should I read it?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Omnivore’s Dilemma

  1. I just added this to my library list. Before I lived with my fiance, I was essentially vegetarian – but now I love having ground turkey in my life – pretty much the only meat I eat. So not sure I could ever be veg full time – or want to (I love pepperoni too much!?). But I’m excited about this read.

  2. It’s taking me so long to read books lately too. I’ve wanted to read a lot of the books like this lately, but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

