Faking Fall

I’ve decided that I’m going to pretend that it feels like fall outside today. I don’t care that it felt like 80 before I got into the office at 7 this morning. Today, in Anna-land, it is a glorious, crisp, cool fall day. Leaves are beautiful colors, the smell of smoke is in the air, stores have Halloween decorations up, and there is a hint of frost in the mornings. Welcome to fall in my world! How am I celebrating the start of (fake) fall? With a few of my favorite fall things!

I noticed the other day that Starbucks has brought back their fall drinks (namely the Pumpkin Spice Latte). Normally I support a smaller coffee shop (Saxby’s) that has flavored coffees and a frequent shopper card that earns me free coffees. However much I love Saxby’s, they don’t have a Pumpkin Spice Latte (or, at least not yet). So this morning while Hubs got his normal iced coffee, I got a Pumpkin Spice with skim milk and no whipped cream. That drink just smells like fall to me! (And, my office maintains a temperature roughly akin with the Artic Circle, so hot drinks are okay by me.)

I’m also celebrating fake fall by having soup for lunch! I seriously crave soup year round, but as soon as it starts to even THINK about getting chilly outside, soup is all I can think about. So, today’s lunch will be soup! I need to scour the menus of our local eateries (Cosi, Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery, etc.) to see who has the yummiest soup today. Oh, and college football starts tonight so Hubs and I will be tuning in this evening! Soup, Pumpkin Spice Lattes, Football = an excellent fake fall!

I closed out August on a pretty good note. I spent some QT with the treadmill: 60 minutes of “speed” intervals (4.0-4.3mph). My total distance was 4.12 miles with 365 cals burned. And, when I got on the scale yesterday morning, I was down 0.4lb from where I started the month! Yes, I know that 0.4lb is nowhere near the goal of 4lb that I set for myself. But, I’m looking at it this way: at one point this month, I was almost at 154. I was up almost four pounds! Anna, not okay! But I fought back and didn’t gain ANY weight this month despite a trip home and lots of eating out (oh Restaurant Week). A loss this month is a celebration indeed! My goal by the end of September is 146 or 147.

[I just took my first sip of the latte, and y’all it was delicious!]

I also implemented some healthier habits in August. Hubs and I started making green smoothies every morning for breakfast (on weekdays at least). His is a little burlier than mine but we’re both gaining added health benefits and uping our fruit and veggie in take. Hubs’ normal recipe: 2 cups kale, 5 baby carrots, 1/3 cup green pepper, 1 apple, 1 banana, small handful of frozen berries, spoonful of yogurt. My normal recipe: 1 apple, 1/3 cup yogurt, 1 banana, 2 cups spinach, 1.5 cups frozen berries. Sometimes it’s a little chunkier than others, but I definitely feel great after downing the smoothie. In addition, we started taking vitamins and supplements. Every morning with my cheerios I take a multivitamin, a calcium/vitamin D supplement, and two fish oil pills. Between the supplements and the smoothies, I feel noticeably better on a day to day basis!

I’m off to spend some alone time with my latte. What’s your perfect fake fall day?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Faking Fall

  1. hehe ‘fake fall day’ – you’re so funny! I noticed starbuck’s had rolled those out, and halloween candy is popping up too!

    Great workout and great goal!!

Leave a Reply

