About a Dog

Hubs and I got Buddy just about six months ago! I cannot believe it has been that long…

Lately, I still feel like I have NO CLUE as to what I’m doing with this animal. Take Sunday night for example: Buddy joined me on the bed for our normal bed time routine. I read (while Hubs watches TV for a little while in the living room) until I fall asleep with Buddy curled up near my feet. When Hubs comes to bed, he puts Buddy in his crate for the night. Well, instead of curling up nicely Sunday, Buddy hopped up, turned around twice, looked at me, and then peed right on the bed!

I was at a loss. There was a little bit of hollering, Buddy was promptly removed from the bed, the bed was stripped (for the second time that day, sigh), and we threw away our comforter. 😦 I was too wound up to relax again for a while so I did some internet research. After ruling out a UTI for our little dog, the internets concluded that he was asserting his dominance by “claiming” the most important place in the house. Come on, seriously Buddy? It appears that, before hitting one year old, our little dog has hit the teen years. We’ve been retraining him to understand that he should be submissive to us and, sadly, there will be no more bedtime cuddles as Buddy has lost ALL bed priviliges.

Last night, when we were starting to feel more in control of the situation, we took Buddy to the dog park to blow off some steam. It was a little warm and in the process our pooch over-hydrated himself. The result was our (normally 90%) housetrained dog peeing inside about 8 times in one hour — including one spectacular episode inside his crate, all over his blankets. (Our washing machine has been getting a workout lately.) At first, I was worried he might actually have a UTI. However, he wasn’t just trying to go without result. He had plenty of result. In fact, if I hadn’t watched his water intake at the dog park, I would have thought he had consumed a swimming pool with the amount of output he produced.

Long story short, trips to the dog park will now involve extended walks afterwards AND he’s getting a new, smaller crate that he won’t pee in. Doesn’t pet ownership sound awesome? 🙂

It really is though, and he’s totally worth it. In honor of our six month anniversary with Buddy the hound (and to remind me that I really do love our little pee machine) — here is a list of things I’ve learned in owning a dog.

1. You will always spend more than you think.
2. “Tuff” or “rugged” toys are lies. The dog will rip through them just as fast — but this time you’ve spent more money because it’s “tuff”.
3. If you are reading/watching/doing something you’re excited about/really into — this is when your dog will become crazy/destructive/pee in the house.
4. Dog snuggles are the fastest way to feel better after a long day.
5. Dogs also make excellent nap pillows. (Bonus points if they sigh really big when you cuddle up.)
6. Dogs help you meet your neighbors (especially the ones that own dogs themselves)!
7. They are great exercise motivators and will never turn you down for a walk.
8. If you’ve put something in the trash, the dog wants it. If you don’t pay attention after you put something in the trash, the dog will get it.
9. Dogs really do hate baths. If you want a pitiful dog face, put them in a tub.
10. Specific to my hound: Buddy grunts like a cow if you pet him vigorously while he’s on the floor. It’s probably one of my favorite things about him and his little hound face. When he does it, we tell him he has a “case of the grunties” and he grunts even more. Awesome!

All right, I suppose this brings my dog stories to an end for the day! Has your dog/pet done something infuriating or absurd lately?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “About a Dog

  1. lmc

    I totally get it! I have no clue what to do with Wasabi a lot of the time. Thank goodness he’s so cute!

  2. oh no!! I hate that – we had some issues with remy in this department… I don’t want to know how many washes my comfortor went through…. 😦

Leave a Reply

