The downside to work travel

I love going new places and traveling! Lucky for me, occasionally my job requires field work. Two weeks ago, I traveled to my home town of Atlanta and then to Austin. This past week, I took four flights in five days to visit Phoenix, Sacramento, and Los Angeles (with a side trip for a few hours to San Francisco). It was wonderful aside from all the flights (not a huge fan of flying).

I’m finding out the downside to work travel – illness. Some nasty girl on the plane next to me from San Francisco to LA was coughing (bring-up-a-lung-style) and not even trying to cover her mouth. It was like the thought never occurred to her. Ick, ick, ick. Finally, after half an hour of hacking she started coughing into her sweater. Unfortunately, that evening I started feeling icky – sore throat, stuffy nose and topped it off with a headache the next morning.

Not wanting to spend my five hour flight the next day feeling like hell, I searched down a bottle of Naked Superfood Juice. Based on its color I was really expecting it to taste nasty. Instead, it was delicious! I devoured it, several cups of tea for my throat and probably half a bag of Halls Defense drops. I managed to feel okay the rest of the day Thursday and half of Friday. However, the five hours of sleep I snagged Thursday night before our long flight didn’t do me any favors.

By the time I got off the plane yesterday (only to have to take a bus and then a train to get home), I felt not so hot. My head is throbbing and I can breathe out of about half a nostril. 11 hours of sleep (yeah!) last night has lessened the headache slightly, but I’m still feeling icky and bummed. Based on previous experience, I’m thinking I’ve got a lovely sinus infection.

I’m supposed to run my quarter marathon tomorrow with my friend Kelly. I already knew I wasn’t going to be able to run the thing straight through — but I hate the idea of not even crossing the finish line. I’m gonna give it a little while longer before I make the call — but just walking around the apartment makes my head pound. I breathe like I’m having a heart attack already when I run, so I’m not sure if I should attempt a run when I can barely breathe as it is. And, if I do the run and I finish it, I’m either gonna feel super proud afterward or like I’m going to die. Maybe a combo of both.

Not totally sure what to do. I don’t want to let my friend or myself down, but I don’t want to feel miserable either…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The downside to work travel

  1. Hahahah oh my goodness. Sorry, I’m not laughing about your misery, I was giggling with the read.
    I say go for the run even if you don’t feel well (and not get to the finish line) it’d be a great story to tell someday.
    “Yeah, once I ran a marathon with a throbbing headache, I felt like I was going to die!”; really is a great story to tell someday.
    A great life is one that has many stories to tell =)
    Many times have we gone to work with a terrible hang over after partying the night before, but we do it anyway because we are young and you only live once. We may feel absolutely horrible, but it’s better to have a life full of funny stories than a boring one.

Leave a Reply

