One part productive, one part lazy

Another Monday, another new week! Still good news to report here. I did an incline interval work out on Thursday and made it 3.2 miles in 42 minutes. I took Friday and Saturday off (inadvertently) and got back to it yesterday for a “run”. I warmed up, ran a mile at 6mph, walked .25 miles, ran another mile at 6mph and finally topped it all off with some cool down walking. My total mileage was 3.2 miles (again!) in 39 minutes.

I also managed to control my weekend eating — normally a HUGE struggle for me! We went to happy hour Friday night, but I made sure I didn’t drink too much and thus decide that nachos/ice cream/a huge bucket of fries sounded good for dinner. I’m pretty pleased with myself for not undoing a week’s worth of work during the weekend again. I popped onto the scale this morning and it appears that I’m down two pounds this week. My weight is hovering right at 150. I cannot wait to get back down into the 140s and then finally see the 130s for the first time in my adult life!

Friday I was super productive! I took my car to the dealership for her annual safety and emissions inspections as well as her 25k mile tune up. I spent the three hours in the waiting room plowing through Lauren Conrad’s second book (Sweet Little Lies). From there, I hustled to the Verizon store at the mall where I got myself a new phone (hooray for a non-chipped screen and an uncracked battery cover) and formally removed myself from my parent’s phone plan. I’m not gonna like that bill when it comes, but it is a nice feeling to be entirely independent from my parents.

The rest of the weekend was far lazier! I finished Sweet Little Lies and rather enjoyed it. This second book was far better than Conrad’s first (LA Candy). There was a plot arc and everything! I didn’t like that an abusive relationship took center stage, especially when so many young girls look up to Conrad. However, after struggling through Elegance of the Hedgehog some lighter fare was much appreciated. On Sunday, I started the last Stieg Larsson book, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I loved the first two and anticipate enjoying this final installment just as much.

Hubs and I hooked up live-streaming Netflix via the Xbox this weekend — I am delighted! Since Hubs was working on a paper this weekend, I alternated reading with watching instant queue stuff. I never watched The Hills before, but after reading Conrad’s books, I was curious as to how parallel the “fiction book” is to the actual “reality show.” So, I queued up Season 1 and made it through 7/10 episodes over the weekend. I foresee more mini-marathons of tv Hubs refuses to watch in the future! We also started watching The Tudors when he took breaks from his paper. Tudor England is an interest of mine so I’m inclined to enjoy the show. It’s a little slow and there’s lots of boobs, but otherwise it’s enjoyable.

I made another round of banana bread muffins to enjoy with breakfast this week. I love the muffins and it’s really creating an incentive for me to not eat the bananas I buy at the beginning of the week. I mean, if I don’t eat them then I can make delicious baked treats with them. Who needs that additional serving of fruit each day during the week?! 😉

Today is a short work day for me — just another 2 hours and then I’m out of here. I’ll be off to let the eye doctor poke and prod my peepers. Inevitably he’ll tell me that my eyes have gotten worse. Then I’ll fork over some cash to order another year’s worth of contacts. Oh well. Hopefully my eyes will un-dilate with enough time for me to work out before running to the library and collecting hubs from class. My knees felt super off after my run last night, so I think I’ll be using the elliptical this evening.

Happy Monday Bloggies! Did you have a restful weekend? What’s the best thing you’ve watched recently?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One part productive, one part lazy

  1. Great weekend for you! Nice job on the runs – very cool! I had a restful and fun weekend! woo! The best thing I’ve watched? Hmmm I’m rewatching Season 6 of 24 right now – it’s kind of the bomb. I also liked zombieland that I watched this weekend! lOL

Leave a Reply

